Car Insurance Quotes Online
Enter Zip Code Below


Cheap Car Insurance In California

California Car Insurance

The state of California does not require motor vehicle operators to have liability insurance, however the state does require them to have some form of financial responsibility in the case of an automobile accident.  Most residents of California result to getting an auto insurance quote for a liability policy because it is the easiest route to establishing financial responsibility.  The state of California requires any liability policies to have a minimum of $15,000 Bodily Injury Liability coverage for one person injured in a motor vehicle accident, $30,000 Bodily Injury Liability coverage for more than one person injured in an accident, and $5,000 Property Damage Liability coverage.

While liability insurance is one way to fulfill state requirements for financial responsibility, a motor vehicle operator can also obtain financial responsibility by making a cash deposit of $35,000 to the California Department of Motor Vehicles; by obtaining a certificate of self-insurance; or by using a company licensed to produce surety bonds in California to obtain a bond of $35,000. Getting a California auto insurance quote for a liability insurance policy can be achieved by contacting an insurance agency licensed to sell insurance in the state of California.  If an agency is not licensed for the state of California, residents should not purchase liability insurance policies from it.

After obtaining liability insurance, the insurance provider will electronically file the information with the State.  After insurance lapses, the California Department of Motor Vehicles will suspend registration for failure to maintain financial responsibility. An auto insurance quote does not provide financial responsibility.  A vehicle owner must actually purchase a liability insurance policy in order to become financially responsible.

A vehicle's registration can be suspended if a motorist provides false insurance information and evidence; if the insurance provider fails to electronically file the insurance information with the California Department of Motor Vehicles; or if after 45 days a motorist fails to replace liability insurance if it has been cancelled.  If a motorist fails to remain financially responsible in the state of California they will be penalized.  All of the penalties will force an auto insurance quote to be more than it would be if the motorist took financial responsibility. If a motorist is not financially responsible they could receive a traffic ticket of $1,000 or more, their vehicle can be impounded, and the motorist could be personally responsible for all damage and injury costs caused by a motor vehicle accident.




Get Quotes




California Car Insurance

Although Los Angeles, San Diego, San Jose, San Francisco, and Long Beach are the biggest cities in California cheap car insurance rates vary from city to city and rates in Sacramento may or may not be different than Fresno. Whether you live in Oakland, Santa Ana, Anaheim or some other city in California take 5 minutes and get free Car Insurance quotes now. If you are looking for additional ways to save take a look at our resources for finding Cheap Car Insurance in California.


 

Car Insurance ›› Search By State ›› California


Top Cities in California With Cheap Auto Insurance