Car Insurance Quotes Online
Enter Zip Code Below


West Virginia Car Insurance

The state of West Virginia requires that consumers have a minimum of $20,000 Bodily Injury Liability coverage per injured person with a total of least $40,000 per motor vehicle accident; and a minimum of $10,000 Property Damage Liability coverage.  This amount of car insurance is mandatory in order to have a vehicle registered in the state of West Virginia.  This state follows a Tort system.  This type of system varies from state to state, but in the state of West Virginia the Tort system requires that a party be found at fault in an automobile accident.  The person at fault and their insurance company is therefore responsible for all damage costs resulting from the motor vehicle accident.

The West Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles will request your proof of insurance for verification at the time of registration or renewal.  Random proof of car insurance checks are often given throughout the year by the Department of Motor Vehicles.  Vehicle owners are required to carry proof of insurance in their motor vehicles at all times, even though the Department of Motor Vehicles has the information on file.  If a motorist is involved in an accident or is pulled over by a law enforcement officer and can not provide proof of insurance, there are severe penalties.

Failure to produce proof of insurance upon request by a law enforcement officer can result in suspension of a motor vehicle's registration.  A law enforcement officer can also suspend a driver's license for thirty days if the failure to provide proof of insurance is a first-time offense, and they can suspend a license for sixty days if it is a second-time offense.  In order to lift the registration suspension, a motor vehicle owner must provide the Department of Motor Vehicles with proof of car insurance and a $100 fee payment. In order to get a license reinstated after the allotted suspension time, a driver must provide the Department of Motor Vehicles with proof of insurance and a $50 fee payment.

In the state of West Virginia, the only way to establish financial responsibility is by buying an insurance policy from a licensed insurance agency.  The West Virginia Insurance Commissioner can help if a car insurance agency's license is questionable.  A consumer should always be sure their insurance agency is licensed to sell insurance in the state of West Virginia before purchasing insurance from that agency.




Get Quotes




West Virginia Car Insurance

Although Charleston, Huntington, Parkersburg, Wheeling, and Morgantown are the biggest cities in West Virginia cheap car insurance rates vary from city to city and rates in Weirton may or may not be different than Weirton Heights. Whether you live in Fairmont, Beckley, Clarksburg or some other city in West Virginia take 5 minutes and get free Car Insurance quotes now. If you are looking for additional ways to save take a look at our resources for finding Cheap Car Insurance in West Virginia.


 

Car Insurance ›› Search By State ›› West Virginia


Top Cities in West Virginia With Cheap Auto Insurance